Much a’blog about nuttin…

I’ve had blogger’s block.  What’s a girl to do?  I think I need some excitement in my life.  Tomorrow is my final class for Flight of Fancyi’ve finished every block except for the words…and that center block, the one with 117″ of 1/8″ bias!!!!!  

Did I mention that there was A HUNDRED AND SEVENTEEN INCHES OF EIGHTH INCH BIAS????? Elizabeth from Late Bloomer, did a tutorial for the basket on her blog.  I thought it would make it all easy for me to do.  I don’t know Elizabeth, so I can totally tell her that while i’m pleased beyond words that she put that whole lakehouse line into one quilt that i loved, with all due respect, i’d sort of like to grab her by the neck and squeeze it until her head comes off for that whole 117″ of 1/8″ bias in the center block, bless her heart.i”M I’m sure I won’t feel the same way when I’m done with that beautiful center block.  I tried to get Robin to do it for me, but she didn’t budge.  I just love Robin, but c’mon now!!!    okay.. so i’ll keep you posted on my progress….  or lack thereof. 

now… drumroll… for the exciting news!!  becky and joey came over for dinner.  they got married late last fall and joey was commenting on how fat becky was and she brought me over a picture…  

and there wasn’t ONE baby in there, but TWO!!!!!!!!!!  becky is going to have twins and it looks like boys!  just what we need, a few more boys in da family!!  we’re not positive they are boys yet, but the thought of twins is still very exciting!!!   i’ve already started picking out fabric to start working on Nanette’s “In the Leafy Treetops” quilt for them. I’m going to do one in blue and one in red, providing they’re really boys.  

I haven’t posted in so long I can’t remember what I’ve been up to….. Melissa and I made some marinara sauce….  i made some lemon shortbread cookies, i’ll post the recipe for them soon.  I copied Ina Garten’s shortbread cookie dough recipe and then added some lemon zest and iced them with powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice icing.  You have to make sure you cut them THICK and bake them until they are crispy!   I’ve been working on my FOF blocks for my class tonight at the local quilt shop

Another drumroll…..  my baby got his drivers license yesterday!!!  

Okay, so September was a good month afterall… twins, drivers licenses and bit o’ sewing, cooking and canning.  No complaints over here.

10 Responses

  1. That quilt is gorgeous! And WOW!!!!! Twins!!!!!! Wow!

  2. What the heck! Lucy beat me for the first commenter (or commentor, whichever non-existent spelling you prefer)! First of all, I thought we had an agreement about being each other’s first commenter’s and second of all, she appears to be losing the first commenter battle with Trashalou over at RicRac’s so she’s moving in on my territory. Where’s the Justice??? Run Her OFF!!!!

    In the meantime, I’m so jealous that you’re working on that gorgeous FOF. And TWINS!!! How exciting!!! Just think what Becky and Joey have to look forward to — TWO driver’s licenses (congrats to Connor) on the same day!!!

  3. P.S. Maybe if you add Lucy Locket Pocket to your sidebar, she’ll give me back my territory!!!

  4. Wow, I admire you for even thinking about tempting the basket in the middle…looking at the tutorial even made me tired! It will be gorgeous and worth it when you’re done, though!

  5. I’m going to email you that pattern so you can get started on it. My treat. You’ve gotta get goin. Those babies are growing!! Your filght of fancy is fabulous. That is exactly why I didn’t make it. I bought the pattern and saw that and got stumped!

  6. Brigette I can’t find your email. Send me an email and I’ll get that pattern to you.

    fredashive@gmail.com

  7. Ummm…don’t you think it would be more appropriate to strangle me with some 1/8″ bias?

  8. OMG! I’m so excited for those two…having double the fun. Having just one throws your world into a spin…two means you have to “hang on tight!”. Woo-Hoo!

  9. Congratulations Brigette!! I am so happy for you. How exciting to be having twin babies to love and spoil. Your quilt is fantastic. Good job!!

  10. That is awesome news about the twins and that quilt is beautiful!

Leave a comment