just another attempt to save anna from herself….

i have a confession.  i’m a copycat poster. it’s true.  anna made a chocolate cake in a coffee mug.  and then MICROWAVED it, and then worse still, ATE it.  yeah. i know. gives me the creeps too.  a few of her imaginary friends posted some real chocolate recipes and i’m adding my favorite one to the pot.  i even found a chocolate post on bakerella’s site i’m being lazy since it’s not yet 6am and am not rising to the “anna photographs everything for her posts”  bar but i get off the hook… it’s not yet 6am, remember?  we’re going to be lucky if this makes any sense at all!  

My mom first made this cake for me for my 6th birthday cake. I’ve loved it for a million years! It’s best the next day chilled, for breakfast!!! (i figure if i’m one million and six, i look great for my age, instead of looking crappy at 45)

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 cups HOT water

2 3/4 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup butter, softened

2½ cups granulated sugar

4 eggs

1½ teaspoons vanilla

Cream Filling: 1 pint heavy whipping cream

1 teaspoon vanilla

½ cup powdered sugar

Frosting: 2 cups powdered sugar

⅓ cup butter, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla

¼ cup cocoa powder, unsweetened

up to 2 tablespoons milk

Preheat oven to 350°. Grease and flour three 9 inch round cake pans. Stir together the cocoa and boiling water from the first set of ingredients. Set aside to cool Sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside. In large bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Add vanilla. Add the dry ingredients alternately with the cocoa mixture, mix only until just combined. Divide evenly between the three prepared pans,and spread the batter out flat. Bake for 18 to 22 minutes in the preheated oven,until a toothpick inserted comes out clean and the cake pulls away from the sides of the pan. Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes before inverting cake onto rack. If you leave the cake in the pan for too long, it will stick to the pan and break apart while you are removing it from the pan. Cool COMPLETELY.

Whip cream until soft peaks form. Fold in vanilla and powdered sugar. Spread cream onto two of the cooled layers. Stack the layers onto a nice plate, putting the two creamed ones on the bottom. Place the plain layer on top.Frost the sides with chocolate buttercream frosting. To make the frosting, beat the butter, powdered sugar, vanilla,cocoa and milk in mixer until light and fluffy. Frost sides of the cake, leaving a ridge that sticks up over the edge. Top with whipped cream and garnish with chocolate shavings or fresh fruit.this photo is of a TWO layer cake instead of THREE.  i’m thinking i must’ve made it for someone i didn’t like very much so i kept a layer for myself.  i’m sneaky like that.  hopefully the person i made it for doesn’t recall getting a two layer chocolate cake from me, doesn’t read my blog, and so i won’t be discovered.

8 Responses

  1. OMG that sounds beyond belief wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!! This is my incentive to get rid of these cruise pounds…then I’ll make your cake and EAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. I’m still waiting for the Veggie platter recipe, LOL!

  3. You’re. So. Cruel. You know I’m at a hotel and can’t make that cake now! The actual cake looks suspiciously like MeMum’s chocccy cake — boiling water and all. It will be fun to see how they compare. Man, oh man though — with the addition of the whipping cream — That looks AWESOME!!! By the time I consume all this chocolate, I’m going to weigh 1 million and six pounds. And BTW….YOU Look Mahvelous!!!

  4. You and Anna are so funny, I’ve been laughing all day. Your cake looks awesome. It reminds me of my Grandma’s recipe. I love your dome and poor Anna doesn’t have one now either. So sad!!! I loved her dome.

  5. Oh, I very much fear that MY delicious chocolate-oatmeal cake may have met its match! That sounds scrumptious…..

  6. Love your blog and love your delivery!!! You are a funny lady love the banner and I’m so hoping it’s you….all my best, Jennifer

  7. Oh my gosh that looks good. I had to laugh at ANna’s post too. Except I still want to try the microwave cake myself! I love Ina Garten’s chocolate cake. Except its bad for me because I love it so much!

    Thanks for your sweet comments on my blog. How nice. I am releasing that pattern this month. I’ll have it up on my blog when the photography comes back to me and I can FINALLY put it out there. Thanks!

  8. Months later update: I just put your cake in the oven, all three layers of lusciousness! There was some leftover espresso on the counter, so I tossed that into the mix. Anytime I can combine chocolate and coffee is GOOD! The batter tasted heavenly………I had sworn I was staying out of the kitchen today [day after Thanksgiving] but—youngest son’s g’friend is having her first b’day ever, so I had to ignore my own resolve. Besides, I’ve just been biding my time for an excuse to try this! No, he’s not going out with a twelve month old baby! Her family doesn’t celebrate birthdays, or Christmas, or Thanksgiving or anything fun…So we are initiating her! Can you imagine not celebrating the day your lovely child was born?? The mind reels! Wish me luck for the frosting…..

Leave a Reply

