playing with blocks

those legless birds and the cone o’ flowers are my next two blocks for my FOF that i’m working on.  i have to run back down to the quilt shop and see if robin can give me a refresher embroidery course on the stitch i’m supposed to do for the leg. i can’t remember the angles!  there’s a joke in there somewhere, but i’ll leave it alone. 

i’m heading back to bed. 4 hours of sleep.  got up to help my son get breakfast before he went to work on the farm this morning.  his last day of summer school was wednesday so he’s working two jobs again until fall semester starts.  this is excellent for my fig consumption opportunities, explained in this post.  i’m so glad he’s back at the farm for lots of reasons, but one is that i’m DYING FOR FIGS.  i’m waiting for the second crop to ripen.  early in summer you get a little crop, then the second crop comes in on the old wood.  we’re waiting for that crop.  not very patiently.  in fact, not patiently at all. 

today is cleaning day.  i won’t be showing you my dust bunnies, not even if you show me yours!!  wish me luck!!

5 Responses

  1. I have wanted to make this quilt for a while now. No time! So I’ll watch your progress for now.

  2. Thanks for the birthday wishes. I love your cone of flowers quilt block. You can never go wrong with pink as far as I’m concerned.

    I’m very interested in Knolls Farms. We’re driving up to visit my parents in Humboldt County in a week, and we alway cut across from I5 on Hwy 12 at Lodi. I’m thinking that maybe there’s a way to visit the farm. The only thing is that we’ll have two beagles along and they’re probably not welcome, and they believe that it’s disrespectful to be expected to wait quietly in the car.

  3. I love your quilt blocks. Have fun and I’m anxious to see the rest. I made pesto this afternoon. Yummy!! I also awarded you the Share the Love award. Visit my blog to learn more. Have a fun Saturday.

  4. LUUUUUV those quilt blocks! I need a fig lesson. I’m afraid of them. Alien Figs!

  5. Cute blocks…I am drawn to black birds, don’t know why but I like them.

Leave a Reply

