my enormously large dog

I would like to introduce my dog.  Her name is Baloo, like the bear in “junglebook”.  She’s 1/2 great dane and half mastiff.  We got her from my friend Peter who lives up in the Pacific Northwest. She’s five years old. I love love love her.  We have to keep the front door deadbolted because she can open it.  Then she stands there, or stands on the porch.  This is her one day when I got home, just standing in the doorway.

 

I had a great day today. I got up early, canned 35 jars of peaches, then went and took a quilting class. I finished my first two blocks. My instructor was a bit of a perfectionist and had us get to where we were making exact 1/4″ seams, bless her heart.  I got it on the 2nd block and was then allowed to proceed.  I learned some great stuff, had fun with Robin and Stephanie and finally got to start on the quilt I’ve been waiting to start on FFOOOORRREEEVVVVEEERRRR (think sandlot, the movie).  

Then I got home an we had dinnerguests, a nice dinner and now i’m going to go and work on my 3rd block.

5 Responses

  1. That is one awesome looking dog! I love me a big dog. We had two German Shepherds over 25 years and I miss them more than I could tell you. A house without a dog feels so empty to me!

    Sounds like you had a wonderful, productive day. Hahahaha BHH!!!

  2. She is WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!! I don’t think there’s anything better than a BIG dog…can’t wait to see your blocks…sounds like you had a very fun day!

  3. oh. mah. gawd. i am seriously smitten by your dog. how could you not completely love that sweet face!

    surfed in from thimbleanna’s. i’ll be back. 🙂

  4. Oh my word she’s awesome !! Kinda reminds me of a Neopolian Mastiff.

  5. […] chickens (we don’t know a damn thing about chickens!), or other livestock – unless you count my unusually large dog. but i LOVE it when the fields are plowed into perfect lines just before they are planted… i […]

Leave a Reply

