My blocks, onions, tomatoes and the rooster!

here are my first three blocks for the quilt i’m taking a class on.  somehow, i’m going to get robin to make 87 million feet of 1/8″ bias for the center block. i don’t know how yet, but i’ll figure it out!!!  

when i got peaches on friday i also got some heirloom tomatoes.  we made a heirloom tomato and cucumber salad to go with dinner on saturday but here they are before we consumed them. 

On Friday I went to the farm.  No, i didn’t go crazy, i visited a farm…  (sorry, i tried to capitalize there for a minute, but it slows me down waaaaaaaay too much. my little brain doesn’t hold the thoughts that long and it takes me too long to type if i’m typing CAPS).

Friday at the farm: 

these onions were just harvested and they are on the ground, under the eucalyptus trees.  i thought they looked great! doesn’t it make you want to make onion soup or something??  (stock up your pantry..)

and here is some garlic as well.  

there are tons of wild chickens at the farm and i’ve seen two roosters there.  one of them will let you get close.  i happened upon the one that won’t.  i followed him around for about ten minutes, hoping no one would see me chasing a rooster around with my camera.  he stopped for a nanosecond under a FIG tree and i got this shot. 

isnt he gorgeous? that fig tree isn’t half bad either, but then again,i don’t know too many people who have crushes on fig trees.

3 Responses

  1. Your blocks are wonderful!!!!!!!!! Those tomatoes are beautiful. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Well huh. Through the magic of the internet, I’ve now seen a fig tree. Are those green little balls the figs? They don’t look ripe enough and I thought it was fig season??? Beeeaaauuutiful blocks — I LOVE that quilt and you’re looks like it will be gorgeous!

  3. Ditto with what Anna said, I’ve eaten figs before, but never knew what a fig tree looked like until now. And your quilt blocks are looking pretty.
    Also, thanks very much for the comments you left on my blog. No doubt you’ll be on your way to creating something like I just did. I only started quilting last year. Just keep in mind that everything is just a block of squares.

Leave a Reply

